How do I remove zone files from my server?


  • Applies to: Grid
    • Difficulty: Easy
    • Time Needed: 10
    • Tools Required: Account Center access
  • Applies to: Shared Hosting
    • Difficulty: Easy
    • Time Needed: 10
    • Tools Required: Account Center access
  • Applies to: Managed WordPress
    • Difficulty: Easy
    • Time Needed: 10
    • Tools Required: Account Center access
  • Applies to: DV
    • Difficulty: Easy
    • Time Needed: 10
    • Tools Required: Account Center access

Overview

The following guide will provide information on how to remove DNS zone files from your server. If you'd like a refresher for general information on DNS zone files and how they work, feel free to review our additional documentation here:

Instructions

  1. Sign into the Account Center.
  2. Navigate to the control panelcontrol panelcontrol panelcontrol panel for your domain.
  3. Under DNS & ZONE FILES, click on Remove Zone File.
    DNS-1.png
  4. A warning message will prompt to re-iterate that removing this zone file may affect the functionality of your site. Click REMOVE ZONE to continue.
    DNS-2.png
  5. A final pop-up message will appear. Click OK to continue.
    DNS-3.png
  6. That's it! Your zone files will have been removed at this time. You may need to wait up to 15 minutes before attempting to re-add a zone file to a service.