Back Up Your Server Using the Snapshot Backup Tool


  • Applies to: DV Developer
    • Difficulty: Easy
    • Time Needed: 10
    • Tools Required: Snapshot Backup, Plesk administrator access
  • Applies to: DV 4.0
    • Difficulty: Easy
    • Time Needed: 10
    • Tools Required: Snapshot Backup, Plesk administrator access

Overview

The Snapshot Backup is an add-on that allows you to preserve the complete state of your server with the click of a button.

Three uses for the Snapshot Backup include the following.

  • Easy 1-Click backup
  • Backups are stored on a different server for added security
  • Preserve your entire server in a working state before making changes (highly recommended before upgrading software that could break your server)

Instructions

Make a Backup

  1. Sign into the Power Panel as root. You can access this panel directly at https://example.com:4643.
  2. Log into your (ve) Power Panel. For instructions and screenshots, please see: How to access your (ve) Power Panel.
  3. Select Maintenance.


    Select Maintenance.

  4. If the backup icon is grayed out, you must first purchase a Snapshot Backup from the AccountCenter. See the previous section for details. Once you've purchased your backup slot(s), click on the New Backup icon.


    Click New Backup.

  5. Enter any notes about the backup. Decide whether you want to exclude certain folders or back up only a few included folders. Then, click Backup.


    Click Backup.

  6. Your new backup will start. If you want to check on its progress, click Details and you will see your progress in a popup window.


    Click Details.


    View the status of your backup.


    View the status of your backup.

  7. In a few minutes or a few hours, depending on how much data there is to back up, you will see your completed backup listed on the main Maintenance screen.


    A list of all your backups

    You're all done with creating your Snapshot Backup.

Update your Backup

  1. To renew your backup (that is, to update it with recent changes), you can select the backup from the list, then click Renew Backup.


    Click Renew Backup.

  2. Enter your notes about this backup, then click Backup.

  3. If you want to check on its progress, click Details and you will see your progress in a popup window.


    A sample confirmation message that your backup has been scheduled


    View the status of your backup.


    View the status of your backup.

  4. Once completed, the list will show your updated backup.

Restore a Backup

NOTE

This action will wipe all of the current content of your server and replace it with the backup content.

  1. To make a restoration from a backup, select the backup from the list, then click Restore Container.

Verify your Backup

Want to check that the backup is there and has all your content? Here's how.

  1. Click on the backup you'd like to verify from your list.
  2. Click Browse Backup.

  3. You'll now be able to browse the directory structure of your selected backup.

Make sure you renew your backup or create a new backup periodically, since this is not automated.

Troubleshooting

If you receive a lengthy error when you try to create a new backup that references being unable to obtain a lock, this indicates that a different backup is currently being performed on that server. Please wait a few hours and try again.

If it becomes necessary for you to make a restoration during that time period, please open a Support Request that includes the error you received, and (mt) Media Temple will supply the latest available disaster recovery backup.

Additional Options

Please see Backup Options for more backup possibilities.

Restoring my server using a Snapshot Backup has instructions on performing a restoration.

Restoring my server using a Snapshot Backup has instructions on performing a restoration.